IU Shapla Forum gets new body

Published : 06 Dec 2022 07:45 PM

An Awami League-backed progressive teacher’s alliance the ‘Shapla Forum’ of Islamic University in Kushtia formed a 15-member executive body for the next year.

Professor Dr Mamunur Rahman of English department and Professor Dr Mahbubar Rahman of Electrical and Electronic Engineering were made as president and secretary respectively.

Shapla Forum election convener, Professor Dr Debashish Sharma, announced the committee.

The other members of the body are Vice-president Professor Dr Shelina Nasrin of Accounting and Information Systems department, Associate Professor Dr Anisur Rahman of Mathematics department as joint-secretary and Professor Ibrahim Abdullah of Computer Science and Engineering department as treasurer. 

The other excutive members of the body are- Prof Dr Miah M Rashiduzzaman, Dr Mahbubul Arfin, Dr Jahangir Hossain, Dr Rabiul Hossain, Dr Tapan Kumar Gooder, Dr Atiqur Rahman , Associate Professor Dr Shahed Ahmed, Dr Sadek Ali, Joyassree Sen and Dr Hossain M Faruquee. 

‘We believe in a spirit of Bangabandhu and Liberation war. And we expect that we hope to go ahead with cooperation of everyone the newly appointed president said.’

The polls of Shapla Forum were held on December 04 at Momotaz building on the campus and after a day the forum elected a newly executive body.