ICC launches World Test Championship

The International Cricket Council has officially launched the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) on Monday 29 July 2019,.

The 2019 Specsavers Ashes series will have more than the historic urn resting on the outcome, with the inaugural ICC World Test Championship beginning at Edgbaston on 1 August.

For the first time in Test cricket, points are on offer for the winner of each match in a series, meaning there’s something to play for even after a series has been decided.

On Monday 29 July, all nine participating nations are celebrating the launch of the World Test Championship, which sees 72 matches contested between August 2019 and June 2021.

Each Test series offers 120 points, split equally among each of the matches, with points on offer for winning or drawing the match. Each nation will play six series in the two-year competition, with the final held in June 2021 between the top two nations in the table.

Following the ICC’s Future Tours Programme, England’s World Test Championship fixtures see them play Australia, West Indies and Pakis­tan at home and South Africa, Sri Lanka and India on the road.

On the launch of the ICC World Test Championship, Ashley Giles, Managing Director for England Men’s Cricket, said: “For many, Test match cricket remains the pinnacle of the sport. It’s great to see the World Test Championship introduced to add an extra element of competition.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup this summer showed just how important it is for every game to count and for the world’s best teams to go head-to-head.