Hectic lobbying centering today’s Rajshahi AL council

Published : 07 Dec 2019 08:59 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 09:25 PM

Last minute's hectic lobbying and groupings are continuing among AL leaders in Rajshahi centering the district council of the party being held today (Sunday). Rajshahi city and adjacent areas have been decorated in colourful banners, festoons and gates on the occasion of the ensuing council. 

According to sources, nearly one dozen of AL leaders including three women are in the fray for grabbing two important posts through the council being held after five-year. The chief subject of discussion among grassroots level AL leaders is about the possible new leaderships in the district.  

The conference of AL is scheduled to be held at Mohila Krira Complex in Rajshahi. Unless there is any consensus among the party leaders in Rajshahi about choosing their leaders, some 360 councillors of the district will elect their leaders through exercising their franchise. 

Since after the announcement of the date of the council, many local  leaders have started to prepare themselves to contest in various leading party posts. All of those party leaders are engaged in lobbying at the centre as well as busy in publicity in favour of their candidacy in various ways. Among the President and the General Secretary candidates, three women candidates, one for the post of the President and two for the post of the General Secretary are also in the fray. They were also learnt to try desperately to realise support from the grassroots to the central leaders in favour of their candidacy.  

Those who are likely to seek the post of the President of the district Awami League are: three-term MP of Rajshahi-1 (Tanore-Godaagari ) constituency and incumbent President of district AL Omor Faruk Chowdhury, three-term MP of Rajshahi-4(Bagmara) constituency Engineer Enamul Haque, Three-term MP of Rajshahi-6( Charghat-Bagha) constituency and incumbent State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam, former MP of Rajshahi-5(Puthia-Durgapur) constituency Abdul Waudd Dara, Former MP and Vice-President of Rajshahi district AL Akhter Jahan, incumbent General Secretary of Rajshahi district AL Asaduzzaman Asad. 

Those who are likely to contest for the post of General Secretary of Rajshahi district AL have been identified as two-term MP of Rajshahi-3(Paba -Mohanpur) constituency Ayen Uddin, Joint Secretary of district AL and Bagha Upazila Chairman Layeb Uddin Lavlu, President of district Krishak League Rabiul Alam Babu, former chairman of Bagmara upazila Jakirul Islam Shantu, Reserved seat MP and Vice President of Jubo Mohila League Advocate Abida Anjum Meeta and the President of district Mohila League Marjina Parvin. 

According to district AL sources, the last council of Rajshahi district AL was held on December-6, 2o14 and the full committee of the party was approved from the centre about one year later. On November 26, 2015, President of the party Sheikh Hasina approved a 71-member district committee. However, the President and the General Secretary of the district AL was selected without any contest then.