FCC South Asia elects BSS journo as governing body member

Published : 28 Mar 2023 09:55 PM

Foreign Correspondents' Club of South Asia (FCC South Asia) has elected Aminul Islam Mirja, New Delhi correspondent of Bangladesh's national news agency Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), as its governing committee member. 

 Mirja, who has been posted in Delhi as the Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) correspondent, has been elected for the post for the third consecutive term this year.

According to the FCC South Asia, the election of its 11-member governing committee, 2023, was held at Mathura Road office in the Indian capital, on March 27 following its annual general meeting. S Venkat Narayan, representative of Sri Lanka's daily 'The Island', Prakash Nanda of Italian newspaper Lindro and PM Narayanan of ARD-First German TV Network were elected as the president, secretary and treasurer respectively in the new committee.

The committee also elected -Munish Gupta (PIO TV), Simran Sodhi (Khaleej Times, UAE), Antje Stiebitz (Deutschlandfunk, Germany), ShoichiroTakaji (Kyodo News, Japan), Devjit Chakraborty (Bloomberg, USA), Mayank Bhardwaj (Reuters) and Ayanjit Sen (Srilanka, Guardian) as its governing body members.

Founded in 1958, FCC South Asia is a member of the International Association of Press Club (IAPC) and affiliated to 40 clubs in 30 countries.