Bank account details of 50 suspects sought

Four ruling party MPs included

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has asked the Bangladesh Bank (BB) for the bank account details of a total of 50 suspected political leaders and businessmen, including four ruling Awami League lawmakers. The anti-graft watchdog sent letters to the central bank in this regard during last week. The letters signed by ACC Director Syed Iqbal Hossain was sent to the central bank’s Financial Intelligence Unit.

According to the ACC, those suspected 50 people include ruling party lawmaker Nur-un-Nobi Chowdhury Shaown from Bhola-3, Whip of the Parliament Shamsul Huq Chowdhury from Chattogram-12, Mouazzam Hossain Ratan from Sunamganj-1 and Pankaj Debnath from Barishal-4.

Detained Dhaka South Jubo League president Ismail Hossain Chowdhury Samrat, Jubo League leader GK Shamim, Khaled Mahmud Bhuiyan, Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan, Selim Prodhan and Shafiqul Islam Firoz are also among those 50 people. Earlier, the ACC imposed travel ban on ruling party MPs Mouazzam Hossain Ratan, Nur-un-Nobi Chawdhury Shawon and Shamsul Huq Chowdhury, Jubo League leaders Ismail Hossain Chowdhury Samrat, Enamul Huq Arman, Khaled Mahmud Bhuiyan and GK Shamim, Lokman Hossain Bhuiya, his wife Nabila Lokman, Krishok League leader Mohammad Shafiqul Alam Firoj, Selim Prodhan, Habibur Rahman Mizan, AKM Mominul Huq Sayeed, Enamul Huq Enu, his brother Rupam Bhuiya, Kazi Anisur Rahman, his wife Sumi Rahman, Mohammad Rafiqul Islam, Mohammad Abdul Hye, Prashanta Halder, Abul Kalam Azad, Zakir Enterprise owner Zakir Hossain and Shafiqul Islam.

Of them, Samrat, Khaled Mahmud Bhuiyan, GK Shamim, Lokman Hossain Bhuiya, Shafiqul Alam Firoj, Selim Prodhan, Enamul Huq Enu, Rupam Bhuiya, are arrested by the Rapid Action Battalion (RAB).