National, Back Page

Agargaon to Uttara

All metrorail stations now operational

Published : 31 Mar 2023 10:53 PM

All nine stations of Dhaka metro rail were brought under operation following the opening of Shewrapara and Uttara Centre stations yesterday. Those two stations, completed under the first phase, were opened at 8:30 am on Friday. 

With this from now on people will be able to travel on metro rail from every stations from Uttara to Agargaon.

In addition, metro train will be operated from 8 am to 2 pm from April 5 and it will run from dawn to midnight from July.

Residents around the two stations expressed their joy to be able to board the metro rail. Besides, the residents of the city expressed hope that the metro rail connected to Motijheel station will also be opened soon.

The authorities of Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) had earlier said that they plan to open the first phase of Uttara to Agargaon section in March. Accordingly, the last two stations of this route - were opened on Friday. 

  DMTCL Managing Director MAN Siddique said in a press conference at the DMTCL office, currently the metro rail service is available from 8:30 AM to 12:30 PM. Initially, the Metrorail service will run for four hours every day. The time will be extended depending on how passengers get used to the new mode of public transport.

The managing director said that after getting good experience and wider responses, DMTCL has decided to keep the metro rail operational for six hours from April 5.

According to the information given by the authorities, till March 29, some 10,77,000 passengers have been transported by metro rail, from which the income has been Tk 6.20 crore. Operating expenses are Tk 7.33 crore, most of which is electricity bill.