Cluster-wise admission test at universities

A sigh of relief for students, guardians

Sheikh Mehzabin Chitra, SUST Correspondent 

Students and their guardians heaved a euphoric sigh of relief over the time-befitting decision of University Grants Commission (UGC) to hold a cluster based admission test for 2020-2021 academic year incorporating 19 general, science and technology universities. 

A cluster-wise easy admission test system at universities will help reduce the sufferings of admission-seekers as well as their guardians this time, they added.

“The initiative to introduce uniform public university entrance exams will remove sufferings of students, particularly females and their guardians who have to travel to multiple places to appear for separate university admission tests,” an admission seeker said.

A number of students who are set to sit for the admission test for 2020-2021 academic year echoed the same expressing their satisfaction over the cluster-wise easy admission test system. We are happy as we won’t have to travel from one place to another for university entry tests, they added.

Apart from the sufferings, they said they won’t have to bear the additional expenditure such as traveling and accommodation cost. The students will apply for public university admission tests would have to appear for only single admission test. 

 “I’m very much happy over uniform public university as I shall be able to participate in the examination from my division,” Sheikh Monir Ahmed, an admission seeker said.

 Earlier, the students, appearing for individual customised admission tests, had to buy separate application forms and appear for separate examinations at different locations of the individual university. 

In the traditional university admission process, the admission seekers had to spend more as they had to buy multiple admission forms (for separate faculties). They also had to bear the traveling and other associated costs.

When contacted Professor Farid Uddin Ahmed, Vice Chancellor, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) on Thursday told this correspondent “The cluster-wise easy admission test system would comfortably allow selecting and enrolling potential students based on their merits they scored in the admission test.”

However, Dhaka, Rajshahi, Jahangirnagar, and Chittagong universities are run as per the 1973 Ordinance, which gives them full authority to enroll new students independently. On the other hand, BUET is also run according to special rules.

These prestigious public universities prefer to continue holding entrance exams following customised questionnaires which have been the conventional practice.

And CUET, RUET and KUET have not taken any decision about holding cluster based admission test yet.

Thus, the UGC has not been able to force these universities to conduct uniform or cluster-wise admission tests.

Earlier on Tuesday, UGC at a meeting with vice-chancellors (VCs) of the universities took the decisions. The examinations will be held in three subjects – humanities, business and science.

The test will take place in person. Question papers will be prepared based on the syllabus of higher secondary.

Currently, 36 public universities out of 46 run undergraduate level studies.

The 19 universities are: Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Islamic University, Khulna University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Jagannath University, Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and  Technology, Pabna University of Science and Technology, Begum Rokeya University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, University of Barishal, Rangamati Science and Technology University, Rabindra University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University, Sheikh Hasina University and Bangamata Sheikh Fojilatunnesa Mujib Science and Technology University.

Traditionally the public medical colleges have been following the uniform entrance examination system. The medical admission test involves students to appear for a single admission test but from multiple examination centres, which are usually the premises of individual medical colleges.

 Meanwhile, all agriculture universities introduced the uniform admission test system from last year.