9th annual general meeting of ActionAid held

Published : 11 Jul 2021 09:40 PM

The 9th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of ActionAid International Bangladesh Society (AAIBS) was held on 10 July 2021. Considering the Covid-19 pandemic and subsequent nationwide lockdown, the AGM was organised through virtual platform. Participants of the AGM included guests, observers and Members of the General Assembly who joined from different remote parts of the country like Gaibandha, Netrokona, Kurigram, Kalapara, Char Montaz and Bandarban as well as USA, Qatar, India and Australia.

As part of the organisation’s democratic mandate, the meeting was convened by Mr Reefat Bin Sattar who is a Member of the General Assembly of AAIBS. 

The Chairperson of the Society Mr. Manzoor Hasan, in his opening speech welcomed newly elected Members of the Board and General Assembly. He mentioned that from now onwards they are an integral part of this organization. He invited everyone to work together to address the crisis of COVID-19 pandemic.

Farah Kabir, Country Director of ActionAid Bangladesh and the Ex-Officio Secretary of the AAIBS Executive Board expressed gratitude on behalf of the Management and mentioned that the organisation resilient performance and uninterrupted activities are due to the outstanding contribution and guidance of Members of both the Executive Board and the General Assembly.  She also added that the composition of the governance structure of AAIBS comprises of Members 

from all walks of life from both younger generation as well as from experienced skill sets which is exemplary across the ActionAid Federation. 

Ms. Kabir also expressed her optimism that the newly elected Members would further the mission, vision and values of ActionAid and strengthen the governance of the Society with their skills and experience. 

The AGM agenda included the ratification of election of Miraj Ahmed Chowdhury and Mr Ibrahim Khalil Al Zayad as new Members of the Executive Board. 

The agenda also included election of eight new Members of the General Assembly. 

The newly elected Members are Ms Anowara Aana Aman, Mr Md. Sadrul Huda, Mr Shoumik Dumri, Ms Rebecca Sultana, Mr Tahmid Sami, Mr Shubhomoy Haque, Mr Abdus Sattar and Ms Taslima Yasmin.

The General Assembly approved the Annual Audit Report of the organisation for the year 2020 and appointed the Principal Auditor for the 2021 accounts of the Society. A presentation by the Secretariat of AAIBS included update of major activities and achievements of the organisation for the past one year. Finally, the meeting was adjourned with an outline of the overall programme for the coming year based on the review of last year's activities.